DIY wire Mrs necklace

IMG_2389

I saw this Kate Spade necklace, and fell in love with everything about it except the price: http://www1.macys.com/shop/product/kate-spade-new-york-necklace-12k-gold-plated-say-yes-mrs-pendant-necklace?ID=835979&pla_country=US&CAGPSPN=pla&CAWELAID=120156340000786355&catargetid=120156340001257876&cadevice=c&cm_mmc=Google_Jewelry_Fashion_PLA_PLA-_-Fashion+Jewelry+-+Necklaces+-+GS_Pendants-_-46478205623_-_-_mkwid_P4NHiYro%7Cdc_46478205623%7C-%7CP4NHiYro

I decided- hey, I can do that! And of course, Pinterest agreed.I looked to this blogpost for instructions: http://www.randomlyhappyblog.com/2013/02/make-your-own-word-charm-necklace.html

Then, I printed out the word “Mrs” in a font and size I liked, and got to work with my pliers. I had never made jewelry before, so I had to wander and chat with several people at Micheal’s, and watch a Youtube video, to figure out that I needed a chain, a hook/clasp, and to figure out what a Jump Ring was and how to use one with a Jump Ring too (I suggest both- they made things sit more evenly, and looked more professional). It took less than an hour to make, after my first failed attempt (full disclosure: the failed attempt was untimed, it was depressing. Be prepared for this).

My final product turned out quite nicely. Give it a shot yourself! If you don’t want to make it yourself, take a gander at my listing to purchase one for only $15 on my Etsy-

https://www.etsy.com/listing/215017717/wire-mrs-necklace-wire-writing-in-silver?

IMG_2388IMG_2390IMG_2391IMG_2393

Leave a Reply

