Holiday Cookies

IMG_2404       IMG_2409

I wanted to make two batches of cookies- some chocolate cookies for me and the chocolate-lovers in my life, and something for my husband and the other not-chocolate-lovers. I stumbled upon this site, which had two recipes usually substantially the same ingredients and process, one for chocolate and one for sugar cookies– perfect!

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/12/03/candy-cane-kiss-cookies/

I skipped the sprinkles, because of a shared dislike of them, and decided to make things colorful by food dyeing some of the cookies red and green.

IMG_2401

I also tried to spiral a few (as seen here- http://www.justataste.com/2013/10/pink-pinwheel-sugar-cookies-recipe/ ). However, spiraling cookies isn’t something you just do willy-nilly it turns out. They turned out okay, but clearly needed to actually be more carefully spiraled to turn out as pretty as they looked online.

IMG_2403          10407493_871958785958_2894898355399050948_n

I followed the sugar and chocolate recipe carefully, only leaving out the sprinkles and adding some food coloring for some sugar cookies. I alternated the cookies, leaving some plain, and added the peppermint kisses to half of them.

The chocolate cookies are almost brownie-like; very moist, and super chocolatey, sweet goodness. They were good with the peppermint as well.

The sugar cookies are pretty typical sugar cookie flavor, but moist and delicious. The peppermint kiss added a unique twist to a typical sugar cookie.

Overall, I recommend both recipes, and it worked out well to make both. You can whip up the chocolate first, and let it sit in the fridge while you make the sugar cookies. I was able to get them both done pretty quickly that way. I got bags from Michael’s, to bag them and decorate with ribbons etc. to give them to friends for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

